• +86-135-5029-3426
  • sales@vinchin.com

Vinchin Blog

Vinchin Blog Open organizations publish standards for SOA architects and cloud service providers

Open organizations publish standards for SOA architects and cloud service providers


< pre > the open organization recently released three standards to help enterprises that are building infrastructure as a service and object-oriented architecture. In addition to the release of Service Oriented Architecture Reference Architecture (SOA RA) and service-oriented cloud computing infrastructure framework (socci), open organizations have also updated their open organization SOA integration maturity model (osimm). Accordingly, these standards provide expert advice on SOA and cloud-scale infrastructure architecture in the form of best practices, questionnaires, and templates.
Service-Oriented Architecture Reference Architecture (SOA RA) provides nearly 200 pages of guidance, mainly from IBM and other technical partners. Architects can use it as a blueprint for evaluating, designing, and implementing service-oriented solutions. In essence, the standard answers "what is SOA?", It also provides a complete logical design of SOA. The core of the standard focuses on the nine descriptors (or functional domains) that make up the SOA solution stack. The open organization uses five horizontal layers to deal with the functional problems in the solution, and four vertical cross-cutting layers to cross these functional layers. The five-level layers are: operating system layer (including basic implementation at runtime and deployment time), service module layer (the technical and functional modules needed to handle service usage), service layer (hosting all services used by SOA), business process layer (as cross-service choreography layer) and consumption layer (providing presentation layer controller, service management layer and service management layer) Caching and other services that help external organizations interact in an SOA manner. The four vertical layers defined by the open organization include the integration layer, service quality layer, information layer, and governance layer. These layers can expose services to external organizations, monitor and manage services, expose and validate data passing through services, and apply policies and standards to SOA solutions. In general, the orientation of the guideline is to provide a tool for enterprises that are adopting or planning to develop their SOA and software vendors that are building SOA-friendly components.
Socci is not only the first cloud standard authorized by open organizations, but also the first industry-standard of infrastructure as a service. By referring to a large amount of data analysis about infrastructure inefficiency in the growing data centers around the world, the open organization has made clear the need for this standard. The open organization describes socci as follows:
It is an enabling framework composed of well-defined and Integrable service-oriented modules. It is very important for infrastructure to provide services. Service-oriented cloud computing infrastructure (socci) is the implementation of this framework specifically for the cloud.
In addition, their definition of socci is as follows:
Socci can be defined as an object-oriented, function-based, manageable and scalable on-demand infrastructure, which provides basic cloud features, services and deployment models. In other words, socci gives the key points of implementing and managing infrastructure as a service (IAAs) environment.
Socci framework defines a series of structural units used to compose business and operation and maintenance components. Among them, business components include support tracking function (metering manager), charging by consumer function (payment manager) and resource allocation by Region (Address Manager). The functions provided by the O & M component include: delivering infrastructure services and simulating physical infrastructure (virtual manager), service monitoring and automatic failure recovery (monitoring and event manager), infrastructure optimization (Supply Manager), and so on Ensure the availability of the required resources ("capacity and performance manager") and the configuration support for the devices in the environment ("configuration manager"). The socci framework document ends with a case study to illustrate how an enterprise can use the framework to optimize its infrastructure delivery.
Osimm is the last of the standards released by the open organization. Osimm, currently the second version, provides a framework for evaluating the maturity level of enterprise SOA. The definition of osimm is as follows:
The open organization SOA integration maturity model (osimm) provides a method for consulting experts and it practitioners to evaluate the maturity level of enterprise service-oriented architecture (SOA). It defines a process to build a roadmap to guide enterprises to gradually adopt SOA and maximize business value all the way.
The osimm definition evaluates enterprises from seven aspects. These aspects include: Business Architecture ("business"), organizational structure ("organization & amp; Governance), it and business transformation process ("method"), application development approach ("application"), architecture practice ("architecture"), information management ("information") and infrastructure support ("information and management"). In addition, osimm outlines seven maturity levels, from the lowest maturity to the highest maturity, which is called silo, integrable, modular, service, composite service, virtualization service, and dynamic reconfigurable service. The seven enterprise aspects and seven maturity levels are included in a matrix diagram, and each cross region represents the description of maturity level at a certain point. For example, if a business architecture is considered to be vertical, then the value contained in this area of the matrix is expressed as "isolated business industry-driven". In order to reveal the maturity of enterprises in each aspect, osimm includes a list of evaluation questions and a scoring system to determine the maturity level.
All of these standard documents complement each other in creating services, assessing SOA maturity, and in developing services
The application of these guidelines in building a service-based infrastructure environment provides useful basic knowledge.
The open group releases standards for SOA architects, cloud service providers
Translators  Wu Yu  Focus on Java EE, interested in technology areas including software architecture, SOA, ESB, and open source projects.

  • Tag:
  • Cloud

Interested Blogs More